You are currently viewing Durand Cup : Here is everything about clubs, groups, and host cities.

Durand Cup : Here is everything about clubs, groups, and host cities.

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Trials

The organising committee of the Durand Cup on Saturday announced that the football tournament will enter Assam and Manipur for the first time with its 131st edition.

Besides Kolkata, Guwahati and Imphal will be the host cities for the tournament beginning on August 16.

The Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan will host the final on September 18.

The Indira Gandhi Athletic stadium in Guwahati and Imphal’s Khuman Lampak stadium will be the newest tournament hosts alongside the Kishore Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata and the Naihati Stadium in North 24-Paraganas district of West Bengal.

The VYBK will play host to 10 games, including the opening derby between ATK Mohun Bagan and East Bengal, as well as all seven knockout games.

Guwahati and Imphal will host one of the four groups and a total of 10 games each.

A total of 20 teams from across Indian Super League, I-League, and Services team would be participating in the competition.

The Indian Army will continue to organise the world’s third oldest tournament, which for the first-time ever will be played across three cities. In Kolkata, the Saltlake Stadium, Naihati Stadium and Kishore Bharati Stadium; besides the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati and the Khuman Lampak Main Stadium in Imphal will host the tournament.

For the first-time, all 11 Indian Super League franchises and clubs will be taking part in the Durand Cup with FC Goa the defending champions.

Lt Gen KK Repswal, who is also the chairman of the tournament organising committee, said, “We had expressed last year that we wanted to expand the reach of the Durand Cup and we are extremely happy that we have been able to achieve the same this year. It would not have been possible without the enthusiastic and proactive support of the three state governments.”

“Besides the new host cities and venues, the 131st Durand Cup will see many other firsts including participation from all ISL teams, a team from Rajasthan and also for the very first time a four-city trophy tour to rev up support for the tournament and engage more fans,” he concluded.


Group A: FC Goa, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Bengaluru FC, Jamshedpur FC, Indian Air Force

Group B: East Bengal Club, ATK Mohun Bagan, Mumbai City FC, Rajasthan United FC, Indian Navy

Group C: NEROCA FC, TRAU FC, Hyderabad FC, Chennaiyin FC, Army Red

Group D: Odisha FC, NorthEast United FC, Kerala Blasters, Sudeva Delhi FC, Army Green