You are currently viewing 29 Football Clubs filled nomination for I-League Qualifiers, AIFF to select 10 Clubs.

29 Football Clubs filled nomination for I-League Qualifiers, AIFF to select 10 Clubs.

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Trials
29 Football Clubs nominated for I-League Qualifiers, AIFF to select 10 Clubs.

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has started the process of shortlisting teams for the Qualifiers
after 18 state associations nominated 29 clubs.

The AIFF had asked each state association to nominate a maximum of two teams while only one – the league winner, on sporting merit – would get the nod.

Several state associations conducted their leagues in a hurry to fulfil the requirement. In Rajasthan, for example, teams
played seven matches in nine days to complete the eight team league. finished as champions, ahead of Rajasthan United, both of whom have been nominated.

Not all league winners, though, have been nominated. In the , J&K Bank FC emerged on top but opted out due to their inability to fulfil the club licensing criteria. Instead, the association nominated Hyderya FC, who finished second, and third-placed Downtown Heroes.

In Goa, the nomination was secured by Vasco Sports Club, even though they finished fifth in last season’s Goa
Professional League. All four teams above them – Sporting Clube de Goa, Dempo SC, Salgaocar FC and Calangute
Association – have no interest in I-League at the moment.

At least two states – Assam and Uttarakhand – did not provide league details, so their entries are unlikely to be

Indian Football Association, governing body for football in Bengal, did not conduct the league last season and didn’t
start this season but have nominated 2019-20 winners and fifth-placed Bhawanipore FC.

“The teams that finished on top will get preference. Only if they do not fulfil the club licensing criteria, will we look at
the second nomination. Only one team (from a state) will get the nod,” said a senior AIFF official. The AIFF will select a maximum of 10 teams.

Nominated teams:

  1. Vizag FC (Andhra Pradesh)
  2. Oil India FC, Elevenstar Club (Assam)
  3. Shirsh Bihar United (Bihar)
  4. Indian Heroes Daman and Diu FC, Young Hearts FC (Daman and Diu)
  5. Sports Hostel Cuttack (Odisha)
  6. Football Delhi, Garhwal FC (Delhi)
  7. Vasco Sports Club (Goa)
  8. Gandhinagar FC, ARA FC (Gujarat)
  9. Techtro Swades United FC, Shimla Football Club(Himachal Pradesh)
  10. Peerless SC, Bhawanipore FC (Bengal)
  11. Hyderya Sports Kashmir FC, Downtown Hero’s FC (Jammu & Kashmir)
  12. Kerala United FC, Basco Othukkungal (Kerala)
  13. FC Bengaluru United, Kickstart FC (Karnataka)
  14. Madan Maharaj FC (Madhya Pradesh)
  15. Ryntih SC (Meghalaya)
  16. Rajasthan United FC, Zinc Football Academy (Rajasthan)
  17. Amenity Sports Academy (Uttarakhand)
  18. PIFA Sports, Kenkre FC(Maharashtra)